Author Archives: Mobius
Richland College now offers teen and adult driver’s education courses through Virtual Drive
TEXAS DRIVERS ED FOR TEENS (14 YEARS – 18 YEARS)
This 100% Online Parent Taught Teen Driver’s Education Course uses the Texas state approved concurrent learning method. Each module consists of a main lesson, topics and support material. The full-narrated course helps drivers with understanding the rules of the road, state laws and safe driving techniques. At the conclusion of each module there is a 6 to 10 question knowledge exam and a full comprehensive material review at the conclusion of each chapter. At the end of the course the student will complete the final assessment. This 50-question exam only covers materials learned in the course and the student can take it as many times as they need to pass. Successful course completion of this approved course fulfills your written DPS exam requirements.
Once a student registers with the State of Texas to take the Parent Taught Program (form DL-92) and finishes Module 1 of Virtual Drive of Texas, he/she will be prepared to apply for a Learner’s Permit through his/her local DPS office. Please be aware that the student and parent/guardian must bring the required documents to the driver license office. The forms needed are provided inside the course and an easy to follow video is available to help the parent prepare these forms. Once the student is 16, has held the permit for 6 months, and has completed the Virtual Drive of Texas course, he/she is eligible to apply for an unrestricted Texas Driver License through your local DPS office. Due to new State laws, the student will now be required to take a driving test administered by the DPS. This is a new requirement for all first time drivers in the State of Texas. Don’t worry; there is a supplemental video available that helps the student prepare for the driving test. No other course has anything like this. After the student obtains his/her license, it is recommended that he/she checks with his/her Insurance Agent for reduced rates on insurance. The Virtual Drive Certificate of Completion qualifies for a 10 to 15% discount with most agencies.
Included in the Teen Driver’s Education course is a parent’s section. This section is short, yet informational. The parent (instructor) will be provided with his/her own course that will explain the method of teaching and a review of the material for each of the 7 one-hour lessons. This brief yet informational review will prepare the instructor for the upcoming lesson. After reviewing the information that will be taught, the instructor will be provided with a printable lesson guide that will serve as a reminder of the topics to teach, as well as a record of completion. This instructor disk will also include all of the answers to review questions and worksheets. This will aid the instructor when mentoring each question period.
The cost of the Teen Driver’s Education course is $75.00.
TEXAS DRIVER’S ED FOR ADULTS (18-24)
Texas requires first time drivers between the ages of 18 and 24 to complete an approved Adult Driver’s Education course. This course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) as course number #C2636 through Virtual Drive of Texas. Most only take a day to complete this six hour Adult driving course, but students have up to three months to complete the course. Virtual Drive of Texas not only provides the TDLR-recognized ADE-1317 certificate of completion, but also experienced staff to answer any questions you have as you go through the class.
This six hour interactive Texas Adult Driver Education course includes short modules designed to help accelerate your learning and includes end of module practice tests to help you determine how well you are retaining your knowledge. The Adult course also includes the DPS written test online. Upon completion of the six hours of online training, students have immediate access to their ADE-1317 certificate of completion. Students are able to take their certificate to their local DPS and complete the in-car test in order to obtain a Texas Driver License. Quick, easy, and timely – you can’t beat it!
The cost of the Adult Driver’s Education course is $38.00.
Please click here to register and pay for the Teen Driver Education or the Adult Driver Education course through Virtual Drive.
During the more than 15 years in which Virtual Drive has provided driver’s education in Texas it has been their pleasure serving the new drivers of Texas, their parents and families. They continue to grow their programs to enhance driving skills for all drivers throughout the state. Since Virtual Drive is state approved you are guaranteed to receive the correct certificate of completion whether you are completing a Parent Taught Teen Drivers Ed course or a Texas Adult Drivers Education Program.
For class questions, please contact Heather L. at 972-238-6918.
For technical questions, please contact the Virtual Drive Help Center at 1-806-352-9558 or 888-83V-DRIVE.
Join us for a day of College Success Sessions, Job Outlook Info, College Tours, Food, and more! Check-in at Fannin Hall, East Side of Campus, at 10 a.m. and register to attend here.
Enter the East Side of Richland College from the Richland East Drive entrance off of Walnut Street and park in lot V or W for close access to Fannin Hall. (Look for our event balloons!) See our Campus Map for more detail.
|10:00 AM – 1:00 PM||Attendee Check-in|
|10:30 AM – 10:50 AM||Concurrent Session I|
|11:00 AM – 11:20 AM||Concurrent Session II|
|11:30 AM – 11:50 AM||Concurrent Session III|
|Noon – 1:00 PM||Pizza, whole fruit, & beverage (El Paso Lounge)|
|12:30 PM – 12:50 PM||Concurrent Session IV|
|1:00 PM – 1:20 PM||Concurrent Session V|
Click on each to see details of session:
There are permanent and temporary concealed carry exclusion zones permitted by the state law enacting that licensed concealed carry holders can carry concealed handguns onto the campuses of all public Texas community colleges, including all Dallas County Community College District (DCCCD) colleges.
The DCCCD concealed carry policy applies to all faculty, staff, students, guests, visitors, and individuals and organizations who do business with or on behalf of the DCCCD or its property.
The law takes effect on Tuesday, August 1, 2017.
PERMANENT EXCLUSION ZONES AT RICHLAND COLLEGE
- Athletic Fields
- Baseball Field
- Fenced-In Soccer Fields #9, #10, #11, #12, #13, #14, #15, #16, #17, #18
- Crockett Hall
- Richland Collegiate High School Office Suite
- High School Dual Credit Office Suite
- El Paso Hall
- Lakeside Resource Center
- Fannin Hall
- Theater Scene Shop
- Art Studios F175, F177, F179, F187
- Guadalupe Hall
- Entire Building
- Pecos Hall
- Police Office Suite
- Facilities Services Yard
- Chiller and Boiler Plants
- Sabine Hall
- Science Labs and Prep Areas
- Thunderduck Hall
- Health Center
- Wichita Hall
- Advanced Manufacturing Lab
- Hydraulic Lab
- Allied Health Sciences Labs
- All DCCCD-Owned Vehicles
TEMPORARY EXCLUSION ZONES AT RICHLAND COLLEGE
Temporary exclusion zones can only be authorized on a situational, as-needed basis.
- Alamito Hall
- Administrative Suite – Disciplinary Hearing Rooms
- Fannin Hall
- Specific Events Involving Minors
- Garland Campus
- Atrium – Election Polling Places
- Hondo Hall
- Human Resources – Disciplinary Hearing Rooms
- Kiowa Hall
- Richland Collegiate High School-Specific Events
Any internal or external activities or events scheduled on campus requiring establishment of a temporary concealed carry exclusion zone must be submitted in writing two full business days in advance of the event. Written requests must be submitted, using the attached Concealed Carry Temporary Exclusion Form, to Bethany Wright, Richland College room coordinator, A200, and approved by the division supervisor, Facilities Services director, college president designee, and DCCCD Police commander.